Member Stories

RACS Annual Scientific Congress 2025 Convenor

The Society is pleased to share the news that one of our Members will be convening the 2025 RACS Annual Scientific Congress.

Congratulations to Professor Henry Woo on his appointment as Convenor of the 2025 RACS ASC!

John Wickham Award Recipient

Professor Prokar Dasgupta, an Honorary Member of USANZ, recently received the John Wickham Award. This award was presented by the European Association of Urology Robotic Urology Section at a ceremony on 14 September 2023, as part of the ERUS23 Meeting in Florence.

Professor Peter Wiklund, one of the committee members involved in the selection of the Wickham Award, noted that Prokar is a particularly deserving recipient. As Peter said, “Prof. Dasgupta is one of the really, really early adopters of robotic urology, in effect becoming the first robotic surgeon in the UK. He is also continuing to innovate, especially in AI applications in robotic surgery.”

Named after John Wickham, the Wickham Medal is awarded in recognition of a significant contribution to robotic surgery. John Wickham is considered one of the pioneers of robotic surgery; together with Professor Brian Davies, he developed and engineered the first urological robotic device - the PROBOT - and performed the first robotic procedure on the prostate. 

For more information, please see the EAU announcement: ERUS23: Prof. Dasgupta wins John Wickham Award

Congratulations, Prokar!

GURS Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr Sanjay Kulkarni, also an Honorary Member of USANZ, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Genitourinary Reconstructive Surgeons (GURS). In congratulating Sanjay, GURS noted with appreciation his "contributions, innovation, teaching and humility". 

On behalf of the Society, we would also like to congratulate Sanjay on this achievement.

Latest Tweets