Australia Day Award 2019

MEDIA RELEASE | January 2019

Australia Day Award 2019 – AM (Member in the
General Division)

Dr Andrew James BROOKS, Mosman NSW 2088
For significant service to medicine, and to medical education, in the fields of
urology and oncology.

Western Sydney Local Health District:

  • Head, Department of Urology, Sydney West LAHN (Westmead and Blacktown hospitals), since mid-1990s.

University of Sydney:

  • Adjunct Associate Professor of Surgery, Westmead Clinical School, current.
  • Director, Western Urology, Westmead Private Hospital, Ramsay Health Care, current.
  • Director, City West Day Surgery, AUSCALM Pty Ltd, Quinmark, and BFT Holdings, current.

Macquarie University Hospital:

  • Robotic Surgeon, current.

NSW Agency for Clinical Innovations:

  • Chair, Urology Network, current.

NSW Cancer Institute:

  • Chair, Urological Oncology Group, current.
  • Chair and Lead Clinician, Steering Committee, Prostate Clinical Cancer Registry, current.

Urological Society of Australia and New Zealand (USANZ):

  • RACS Council Representative, 2011-2017.
  • Chairman, Policy Committee, 2009-2015.
  • Chief Examiner, 2007-2009; Chairman, Training and Education Committee, 2000- 2003.
  • Immediate Past President, 2005-2006; President, 2003-2004; Vice President, 2001- 2002.
  • Honorary Secretary, 1999-2000.
  • Convenor, Annual Scientific Meeting, Hong Kong, 2008.
  • Fellow, since 2017.

Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS):

  • Councillor, 2011-2017; Past Deputy Treasurer.
  • Past Deputy Chair, Board of Surgical Education and Training.
  • Past Vice Chairman, Court of Examiners; Past Senior Examiner.
  • Fellow, since 1980.

Awards and recognition include:

  • Recipient, Society Medal, USANZ, 2008.

Australia Day Award 2019 – OAM (Medal of the Order of
Australia in the General Division)

Dr Ross Ashley CARTMILL, Bulimba QLD 4171
For service to medicine, and to the community of Queensland.

Queensland Branch, Australian Medical Association

  • President, 2007-2008.
  • Former Member, 33 years.
  • Successful advocate for rebuilding of Mackay Base Hospital whilst President.


  • Urologist, teaching hospital, Princess Alexandra Hospital, 1980-2016.
  • Established the Urodynamic Laboratory now named in his honour.
  • Introduced urological prosthetic surgery to Queensland Public Hospitals.
  • Participated in outreach, Rockhampton Base Hospital, 2008-2013.
  • Chairman, Department of Urology. 2010-2016.
  • Chairman, Senior Medical Staff Association, 2000-2011.
  • President, Urological Society of Australia and New Zealand, 2005.
  • President, Asia-Pacific Society for Impotence Research, 1995-1997.
  • Member, World Health Organisation committee on Erectile Dysfunction, 1998-1999.


  • Industrial advocate for Visiting Medical Officers, Queensland Public Hospitals, 1995- 2015.
  • Successful advocate for modification of Qld Parliamentary Standing Orders allowing improved conditions for Citizens' Right of Reply, 2017.
  • Member of Human Research Ethics Committee, Uniting Care Queensland, 2014 to present.

Liberal National Party of Queensland

  • Former Vice-President, Policy.
  • Former East Zone Chairman.
  • Member, current.

Latest Tweets